top of page
  • Writer's pictureUche

Home-made Tiger-nut(Hausa groundnut) and Coconut Milk

Heii people, i am going to show y'all how I make Tiger nut milk Homemade, which is easy and at the same time interesting. The same thing also applies to Coconut Milk and Almond Milk.

First I would gist you su-malll about how my love for plant Milk started, when I grew up to like almost 20, I suddenly stopped doing much with Milk,there was no reason per say but I just didn’t do milk again. The whole milk and tea thing we grew up with I, sort of got tired of. I only took it once in a while but as the years went on and I started selecting what I put in my body, I decided to divert to skimmed Milk ( ie milk low in fat,lots of its the fat had been drained out of it through industrial processes e.g in Nigeria- Cowbell, Three crowns, Dano low fat) and also because I also wanted to reduce my in take of fat, sugar,cholesterol and high calorie which I actually did enjoy.






As the years went on I completely almost forgot about Milk, except when I have the craving which was once in a blue moon😲 and except for plain unsweetened Yogurt which is a healthy side of animal Milk. When! Yogurt! How did I almost forget, infact I can't do without it(exaggerating a bit shaaaa😉). Well, I later discovered non-dairy milk, then one day I tasted Hausa Groundnut(Tiger nut) milk and that was the beginning of our love affair since then. I have virtually done everything with it from baking to smoothies and puddings to doing fruit Juice with it. And do you know as healthy as it is, its still very delicious even without sugar, same thing goes to Coconut Milk. You get plant milk protein and with little healthy Fats also.


Its not difficult too brew(extraction of liquid from a solid) in your Kitchen. I have been doing it and you can do it too. It can be done and used immediately or for the long run but take note that they tend to ferment fast so you have to store it in a very cold fridge to last long for you. But not in an iced fridge or else the molecules of the milk would disintegrate and you wouldn't be able to make use of it.


I still do skimmed Milk on very few occasions,but my go to and the best type of Milks are plant Milks. If we can buy them always good,but if not especially because of their costs in Nigeria we can decide to brew them sometimes at home, then sometimes go for skimmed Milk or low fat Milk. Let Milk not be an every day consumption for. especially adults. If you must consume everyday then it's advised you switch to plant Milk. By now you would have noticed on this blog my adventure with Plant Milk and how I use it for a lot of things.





So people oya let’s get brewing😁. See my method of brewing plant Milk.



Tiger-nut(Hausa groundnut) and Coconut Milk


Procedure


For hausa groundnuts I personally use the dry ones, its my preference you could go with the wet one. - Its a very easy process it just requires a little bit of patience🤗, just put a the quantity of Tiger-nut or Coconut you want to brew into your blender then put water to just float on top.


-Take note that too much water would make it loose its sweet taste but if you are ok with that no problem its all about preference🤗.


- Blend until very smooth and it cuddles or thickens then turn it into a bowl, (note if your tiger nut is much, its advisable to blend little by little so that you don't over work your blender and also so you could have enough Milk to extract.


If you are a real Nigerian personal person 😁 you would know the net like cloth used to make Akamu, that is the perfect material for extracting Milk. Using filter or a sieve works too but you may not get the Milk to the last drop, that was why I switched to that Akamu cloth and I could squeeze the life out of the Chaff hehehe🤣🤣


- So after blending it, you put a little, not much quantity into the cloth, then wrap and squeeze like you are squeezing water out of a cloth.


-You repeat this till you have exhausted what you blended. Then use to do anything from blending with fruits or my personal favorite blending with Avocado pear and groundnut. Also it can be used as your cooking and baking Milk.


In fact anything that you use Milk for it can be substituted with it, and its even more delicious than our everyday Milk. You wont regret it.😊😊





Comments


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page